LAES Calendar

PROGRAM CALENDAR
Sun, May 1
Mon, May 2
Tue, May 3
Wed, May 4
Thu, May 5
Fri, May 6
Sat, May 7

Sat April 30
Arrival and transport to Amherst, MA

Sunday May 1
Town of Amherst
Welcome Lunch
ITD Staff

AM
Introductions and expectations. Administrative Orientation.
Randhir and Protti

Welcome lunch

PM
Orientation to Pioneer Valley Environmental resources, challenges and planning for the future
Ratte

 

AM
Introduction to Global Environmental Sustainability
Randhir

The U.S. System of Government
Laurie

PM
Stakeholder involvement and planning for climate change
Hamin

Sustainable food and farming
Gerber

AM
Energy-efficient building systems
Hoque

Multi-stakeholder approach to environmental management and decision-making
Randhir

PM
Ropes Course at MacLeish

Visit LEED certified building-NEE
Marcus

EVE
Reception

AM
Understanding the causes and consequences of climate change
Climate Center, UMass

PM
Visit local farms to observe sustainable agricultural methods
Clarke

AM
Sustainability in practice- stream restoration
Shriver and Singler

PM
Preparation time for Fellowships
Randhir and Protti

First meeting with counterpart:
Stakeholder needs (Theme 1)
Randhir

Quabbin watershed resource mapping

Quabbin hiking trip
Randhir and Reed

Sun, May 8
Mon, May 9
Tue, May 10
Wed, May 11
Thu, May 12
Fri, May 13
Sat, May 14
Free
 
Begin fellowships Fellowships Fellowships Fellowships AM
Fellowships

PM
Weekly meeting with counterpart: Identifying focal areas-processes (Theme 2)
Randhir

Travel to NYC

  • Times Square
  • Rockefeller Ctr.
  • Empire State Building
     
Sun, May 15
Mon, May 16
Tue, May 17
Wed, May 18
Thu, May 19
Fri, May 20
Sat, May 21
AM/PM
New York City

  • Brooklyn Bridge
  • Statue of Liberty
  • Wall Street
  • 9/11 Memorial and Museum
AM
Visit FEMA "Disaster Recovery Office"

Return to Amherst

Fellowships Fellowships Fellowships AM
Fellowships

PM
Weekly meeting with counterpart: Assessing progress-approaches (Theme 3)
Randhir

Turner's Falls Fish ladder and environmental education.
Sun, May 22
Mon, May 23
Tue, May 24
Wed, May 25
Thu, May 26
Fri, May 27
Sat, May 28
Free Fellowship
Fellowships Fellowships Fellowships AM
Depart for Boston 
Meeting with DCR office

 

Boston Harbor Tour
Visit Harvard University

Sun, May 29
Mon, May 30
Tue, May 31
Wed, June 1
Thu, June 2
Fri, June 3
Sat, June 4
Boston

  • Prudential Tower
  • Boston Common
  • Boston Public Garden
Travel to Washington, D.C. Professional Fellows Congress

Professional Fellows Congress

Professional Fellows Congress

AM
Visit TNC International
Rieger
Visit US EPA – Climate Change
Harnish
PM
Monuments Tour
Return to Amherst
Sun, June 5
Mon, June 6
Tue, June 7
Wed, June 8
Thu, June 9
Fri, June 10
 
Free AM
Review and analysis of Washington DC experience.

Writing effective action plans including grant writing.
Randhir

PM
Action plan preparation

All Day
Action plan preparation.
Individual consultations.
Randhir
 
AM
Summer counterpart exchange and next steps

PM
Action plan presentations

AM
Action plan presentations

EVE
Closing Banquet

Departure for home countries