2014 Study of the United States Institutes on History and Government
St. Bonaventure University

 Sun, 13 Jul Mon, 14 Jul Tue, 15 Jul Wed, 16 Jul Thur, 17 Jul Fri, 18 Jul Sat, 19 Jul
Saturday 12 Jul
Arrival
Ground transportation to dorms
Settle in

Sunday July 13
Orientation at 1pm
at the University Club (Marinari, Yaworski and Mentors)

Campus Tour with Ellen Winger at 3pm

Social event and dinner at 4pm World Cup watch party at the Rathskeller

AM
Introduction to Moodle & Online content knowledge test (Marinari and mentors) at the computer lab in the library

Leadership: Leadership in participants' home countries (Marinari and SUSI participants)

PM
Tour of Olean and Allegany (C. Horowitz)

AM
Lecture: U.S. Constitution: The Birth of the United States and the Emergence of an American Identity (Robbins)

Lecture: American Identity & Exceptionalism: Myth and Reality (Marinari)

PM
Discussion:  Processing Olean/Allegany Tour:  Is this the United States what you expected?

AM
Lecture: The American Civil War  (Mackowski)

Leadership: Discuss Burchard, The Student Leadership Guide (Marinari)

PM
Presentations & Group Discussion:
Home Nation's Constitutions (Marinari and SUSI participants)

Historical Background on Chautauqua Institution: An Institution of Learning for Everybody

Pack for Chautauqua

ALL DAY ACTIVITY
(9 am departure)

Chautauqua Institution (students will attend one lecture during the day and go to a symphony orchestra concert in the evening)

AM
Return from CI
Free Time

PM
Workshop on grant writing and debriefing on first week of the institute (Marinari)

Optional: evening at Good Times (mentors)

 

Free Time

Optional activity: Trip to Darien Lake
Mentors

Sun, 20 Jul Mon, 21 Jul Tue, 22 Jul Wed, 23 Jul Thur, 24 Jul Fri, 25 Jul Sat, 26 Jul
Optional: Annual Seneca Nation Pow Wow in Salamanca, NY (mentors)

Documentary: Niagara Falls (mentors)

Pack for Buffalo

Buffalo Trip
Tour and discussion of non-profit organizations in the art world: Frank Lloyd Wright's Darwin Martin House at 11:30am
 
Delaware Park (an Olmstead Park)
 
Shopping at Galleria Mall

Overnight Stay in Buffalo

AM
Niagara Falls

5:00 Conference call with SUSI institutes in MA and AZ

PM
Lecture: American Economic History in national and local context (Payne)

AM
All Day Event: Ropes Holiday Valley (leave campus at 8:00 a.m.)

Documentary: “Is Wal-Mart Good for America?” (mentors)

Optional: jazz dance class at 6:30 at Dance Arts in Olean (Melissa and mentors)

AM
Lecture: Globalization and American Power (Marinari)

Presentation: impact of globalization on home countries.

PM
Workshop: Leadership and social media (DeSimone)

AM
Lecture: U.S./Latin American Comparative Politics (Kubal)

Workshop on presentation and grants and debriefing on second week of the institute (Marinari)

PM
Get ready for home visits

Leave for home visits at 5:00

 Home Visits
Sun, 27 Jul Mon, 28 Jul Tue, 29 Jul Wed, 30 Jul Thur, 31 Jul Fri, 1 Aug Sat 2 Aug
Home Visits End

Pack for Chicago
 

AM
Travel to Chicago
Leave campus 4am

PM
Hancock Observatory

Free Time

AM
Grant Park
Shedd Aquarium

PM
Field Museum of Natural History (with quick tour)

Free Time

AM
Workshop: Leadership in the refugee relief world with World Relief Chicago

PM
Free Time

AM
Return to Olean
AM
Program Survey: Informal evaluations of the program (mentors)

Workshop: Putting into practice Brendon Burchard's The Student Leadership Guide (Marinari)

Lecture: US/Latin American Relations in Historical Perspective (Horowitz)

PM
Discussion:
How Soccer Explains the World
(Horowitz)

Workshop on presentation, grant writing, and debriefing on third week of the institute (Marinari)

Optional: Picnic at Allegany State Park (mentors)
Sun, 3 Aug Mon, 4 Aug Tue, 5 Aug Wed, 6 Aug Thur, 7 Aug Fri, 8 Aug Sat, 9 Aug
Cultural Exchange:
Potluck with Host Families at 6pm
AM
Discussion:  Minorities in Participants' Countries (Marinari)

Lecture: Working with Native Americans in the U.S. (Brawdy)

PM
Site Visit: Seneca National Museum (1:00 p.m.)

Documentary: Question 1 (Marinari)

AM
Volunteering at the Pfeiffer Nature Center at 8:00
 
Workshop: Pfeiffer Nature Center Director on Nonprofit Leadership

Lunch at Sprague's

PM
Lecture: American Women's History (Messinger)

Lecture: Gay rights as civil rights (de Vries-Jordan

AM
Discussion: Brendon Burchard, The Student Leadership Guide (Marinari)

Discussion: Drown (R Walsh)

PM
Warming House 1 at 2:00 (ten students)

Participants not at Warming House present on how they might lead when they return.

Evening
Movie: Mr. Smith Goes to Washington (mentors)

AM
Lecture: American Politics (Lambert)

Lecture and discussion: Minorities in Multi-Ethnic Societies (Marinari)

PM
Warming House 2 at 2:00 (ten students)

Participants not at Warming House present on how they might lead when they return

AM
Workshop on presentation and debriefing on fourth week of the institute (Marinari)

Work on grant applications (Marinari)

Pack

PM
Farewell Dinner at El Mariachi (6:30)

 

AM
Travel to NYC
Sun, 10 Aug Mon, 11 Aug Tue, 12 Aug Wed, 13 Aug Thur, 14 Aug Fri, 15 Aug Sat, 16 Aug
AM
Free

PM
Broadway Play

Evening
Free Time

AM
Tour of Harlem

PM
Tenement Museum

9/11 Memorial Museum

AM
Travel to Washington, D.C.

Check into hotel

PM
Orientation of the three groups

Washington, D.C.
AM
Center for Inter-American Dialogue

Capitol Tour

EVE
Tour of the Monuments

Practice Presentations

Washington, D.C.
AM
Meeting with the State Department

Student Presentations

Debriefing and program evaluation

PM
Visit Smithsonian Museums

Washington, D.C.
AM
World Bank

Speaker on LGBT Rights

EVE
Closing Dinner
 

Return to home countries